Our Board of Trustees

Chess board

Our Trustee Board has overall responsibility for the management of our organisation.


The Trustee Board of Hertfordshire Students' Union is responsible for ensuring that as an organisation, we are well run, have an effective strategic plan, our finances are secure and that we operate within the law. Day-to-day management and operations of the organisation are delegated to the Chief Executive Officer who is charged with bringing the strategy to life.


Our Trustee Board is made up of:

  • 10 Officer Trustees - our Elected Officers are automatically assigned to the board (Herts SU)
  • 2 Student Trustees - students who are currently studying at the University of Hertfordshire can apply
  • 1 University Trustee - a member of staff at the University of Hertfordshire
  •  4 External Trustees - external members who bring experience and expertise to the board


The following people attend the Trustee Board as Officers in Attendance:

  •  Secretary to the Board
  •  Chief Executive Officer (Herts SU)
  •  Head of Community Operations (Herts SU)
  •  Head of People and Resources (Herts SU)
  •  Head of Student Services (Herts SU)


Officer Trustees

Manoj Kumar Nagireddy - President (Deputy Chair of the Trustee Board)

Idowu Temitope Victor - Black Students' Officer

Saj - Campus-Based Students' Officer

Olawale Joshua Komolafe - Commuting Students' Officer

Akinyemi Daniel Lawal - Disabled Students' Officer

Padmavathi Valluri - International Students' Officer

Chinmay Vyas - LGBTQ+ Students' Officer

Chizobam Ezechukwu - Mature Students' Officer

Moyinoluwa Ifeoluwa Olaiya - Placement Students' Officer

Divya Maheshwaram - Women Students' Officer

Student Trustees

Hamnah Baig

Oluronke Oluwalere

University Trustee

Dr Mairi Watson - Pro-Vice Chancellor Education and Student Experience

External Trustees

Bob Walder (Chair of the Trustee Board)

Bob brings a wealth of experience from his consulting days at SUMS, a not-for-profit organisation serving university members, including University of Hertfordshire. A passionate advocate for the transformative power of Higher Education, Bob believes in amplifying the voices of all stakeholders. He is also the Chair of the National Bobath Centre for Cerebral Palsy


Dr Lucy Atkinson

Trustee since September 2023, Lucy has advance knowledge of the learning, teaching and education world spanning over ten years. Currently Director of the Institute of Foundation Studies at Arden University, Lucy prides herself on ensuring universities are enabling access to higher education for a diverse cohort of students


Rajiv Sudan

A Chartered Engineer and independent advisor championing start-ups and companies in the built environment sector, Rajiv not only brings technical expertise, but is also deeply involved in Equity, Diversity and Inclusion matters. Formally starting his role early next year, Rajiv has attended shadow meetings since June as a Shadow Trustee. He's looking forward to bringing his experience and unique perspective to the Board


Sarah Fuell (leaving in Feb 2024)

Sarah is a former banking executive with over twenty years' experience, having worked for Morgan Stanley and JPMorgan in Europe and Asia. She has been a member of the Board of Trustees since 2017 and is currently Chair of the Finance & Audit Committee. Sarah is an avid supporter of the Students' Union and enjoys the interaction with the students and management team. Sarah is also a Trustee for the Isabel Hospice and a coach and mentor for Parent Gym UK. Sarah has previously been a Board Member for the Variety Catherine Awards which celebrated women in business


Umar Mohamad

Umar has over 10 years’ experience in Compliance across a wide range of financial service sectors. In addition, he has significant experience in management consulting, spanning several years. Umar is an advocate of the student experience at university and has been involved with education-focussed charities previously


Officers in Attendance

Karen McKenna - Secretary to the Board

Rebecca Hobbs - Chief Executive Officer

Sean Ferrie - Head of Community Operations

Leena Patel - Head of People and Resources

Steve Owen - Head of Student Services